We are a group of built environment professionals that live and sometimes work in Waltham Forest. We care about our local environment and the diverse community in which we live, and wish to see it grow and prosper in an inspirational yet thoughtful and sustainable way, with respect to it’s history and to all groups of people that live here.

Established in May 2013, the group is keen to influence design decisions in Walthamstow and promote well considered development; we want to demonstrate that there is a wealth of local resource that can assist these decisions in a constructive and professional manner.  We also consider that meaningful public participation in the planning process is vital, but there is very often a gap in the dissemination of information and consultation which we want to fill.

As AE17 we are not offering architectural services, and are a voluntary, not-for-profit organisation.  We are not linked to any political group, but we are affiliated to RIBA London.

Members do not use AE17 to solicit commercial work and declare potential conflicts of interest.

If you would like us to keep in touch with you about future projects and development events taking place, please join our mailing list.  Alternatively keep an eye on our blog here, and Twitter feed.


We meet once a month, revolving around a monthly Chairperson in various pubs or on Zoom.

Committee 2020
Jonathan Crossley BA(hons) DipArch RIBA
Jonty Craig BA MArch DipArch RIBA

Eva Aftab RIBA
Karen Averby MA PGC ArchHist (Oxon) Calf
Emily Beavan BA(Hons) MArch ARB
Oliver Bray BA(Hons) DipArch RIBA
Fiona Cobb MEng MSc
Alastair Crocket BSc (Hons) Diploma MArch ARB
Aaron Down BA(hons) Dip. Arch
Jessica Foster MEng CEng MIStructE
Carol James BSc(Hons) BArch RIBA
Mark Janko DipArch MSc
Nicola Jaques BA(hons) DipArch RIBA
Phil Nicolas ARB APMP
Max Plotnek MRTPI
John Senior BA(hons MA(RCA) RIBA
Chris Smith BA(Hons) BArch PgDip RIBA FRSA
Carlo Viscione BA(Hons) Spatial Design
Akay Zorlu BA(hons) MSc RIBA

If you’d like to know more or are keen to get involved, please drop us a line.